2013-PhiThetaKappa | SKCTC

Phi Theta Kappa inducts new members during ceremony

The Xi Sigma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College recently inducted new members into the academic honorary. The organization, which began at SKCTC in 1965, recognizes as well as encourages scholarship among associate degree students. To be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, individuals must have a 3.5 or better GPA and have completed 20 credit hours. Pat Baker, Sandy Holbrook and Joseph Johnson serve as faculty advisors, and officers for the 2012-13 school year include: Brittany Williams, president; Jennifer Brackett, treasurer; Zachary Howard, vice president of membership; Abbey Abraham, vice president of leadership and Danielle Brock, membership officer. The induction ceremony was held in the theater of the Edsel Godbey Appalachian Center on the Cumberland campus with special remarks made by SKCTC President Dr. W. Bruce Ayers, a charter member of the local chapter.

(Photos by Chris Jones)