News Archive


CUMBERLAND, Ky. A little bit of rain was not enough to stop local golfers from teeing off to help students attend Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College (SKCTC). Nearly 20 teams took part in the Lillian Faye Simpson Scholarship Golf Classic on Saturday, August 20th at Sleepy Hollow Golf Course in Cumberland.

Several thousand dollars were raised during the event, which featured 17 four player teams. The money goes to the Southeast Education Foundation, which supports student scholarships. Appalachian Regional Healthcare, the Kentucky Coal Academy and American Business Solutions-Xerox were the sponsors for this years tournament.

The Ronnie Cox Law Office team, consisting of Ronnie Cox, Jay Dunaway, Jody Gilliam and Drew Chamberlain, took home the first place prize of $600. The Harlan County Farm Bureau Team (Ed Leisge, Fred Dixon, Connor Leisge and Al Wilford) won second place, taking home $400. Jimbo Vicini, Pete Cornett, Sr., Steve Vicini and Luke Minor took home third place honors and $200.

In the category of longest drive, Connor Leisge was the winner. Steve Campbell won in the closest second shot category and Pete Cornett, Sr. was the closest to the pin.

Photo caption: Ronnie Cox, Jay Dunaway and Drew Chamberlain, members of the winning team from the Ronnie Cox Law Office, enjoying a break in the action during the 2016 Lillian Faye Simpson Scholarship Golf Classic.

2016 Golf Classic winners