News Archive

Southeast officially honored at the Aspen Institute Prize for Community College Excellence ceremony

Dr. W. Bruce Ayers, right, president of Southeast Kentucky Community amp; Technical College along with other finalists in the 2013 Aspen Institute Prize for Community College Excellence, displayed awards received during a ceremony March 19 in Washington, D.C. Southeast was chosen as one of the top ten community colleges in the nation from a field of over 1,000 colleges. Co-winners for the overall award for excellence went to Santa Barbara City College of California and to Walla Walla Community College in Washington state. Ayers, who is to retire soon as the SKCTC president following 27 years, leads the college that serves Harlan, Bell and Letcher counties and boasts an enrollment of over 5,000 students from five full-service campuses.

Award winners for aspen prize