News Archive

Southeast faculty are recipients of 2013 enhancement mini-grants by unrestricted gifts from donors

Nine Southeast Kentucky Community amp; Technical College faculty have been awarded enhancement mini-grants for 2013, according to Susan D. Caldwell, SKCTCs vice president for Institutional Advancement.
She noted that the winners were chosen by a committee comprised of division chairmen, with the amount of the awards totaling $23,246 and made possible by unrestricted gifts from donors.

Faculty members receiving grants include: Ann Schertz ($1,815) for classroom technology to bring live and recorded Web resources to music education courses; Elana Scopa ($2,651) for replacement of hotplates for chemistry, physics and biology labs; Scelinda Webb ($2,998) for research project for microbiology students in partnership with the U.S. Dept. of Wildlife and the Army Corps of Engineers; Joseph Johnson ($2,741) for purchase of equipment for a physics lab for students to perform thermodynamics and magnetism experiments; Wendy Wright ($2,000) for the purchase of a Laerdal airway management trainer for respiratory care students; Paula Whited ($2,800) for the replacement of an electric hospital bed for nurse aide training; James Miller ($2,929) for teaching equipment for electricity/electronic classes; Tracy Bowling ($2,997) for the purchase of a Hoyer lift for the physical therapist assistant program; Astor Halcomb ($2,315) for audio/visual aids for the radiography program.