News Archive

SKCTC Honors Night Recognizes Student Achievement

Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College -- Middlesboro Campus -- presented the ninth annual Honors Night on Thursday, May 6.

Professor Astor Simpson was the emcee for the evening. Students were recognized for their academic achievement in various subject areas. The students recognized had achieved the highest grade in their subject area for the 2009-2010 school year.

Faculty presented awards for excellence in their subject areas. Student groups were also recognized for their participation and service to the school and community. Special recognition was given to certain students for their achievements. William G. Brittain was recognized as Outstanding Freshman Student of the Year, and Lucas Wilder as the Outstanding Sophomore Student of the Year. The audience was estimated to be in excess of 300 friends and family members.

A reception followed the program. Following is a list of academic awards and winners -- transfer scholarships awarded -- groups and organizations recognized and special awards and recognitions.

Academic awards presented are as follows:

Accounting: Christopher Sizemore,Karen Chavies

American Literature: Carlene Hubbard

Architectural Drafting: Anthony Davis,Jimmy Partin,Josh Bundy

Basic Public Speaking: Jared Akers,Kimberly Maggard,Meggan Rose

Business Administration: Amanda Lambdin

Civil Drafting: Danielle Gilbert

College Algebra: Michele Becerra

College Chemistry: Joshua Ricketts,Joseph Johnson,

Developmental Psychology: Freida Hoskins

Diesel Technology: Seth Boyd

Education: Amy D. Elliott, Ronald Hamilton

GED: Chris Kreutzer

General Psychology: Jenna Lefevers

Genetics Perspective: Michele Becerra

History: Jennifer Baker Misty Wyatt,Ashley Damron,Robert Yonts,Joshua Hickey,Sarina Keck,Samantha Murray,Lucas Wilder

U.S. History: Owen Casey O'Neill

Human Anatomy and Physiology I: Emily Miles

Human Anatomy and Physiology II: Michele Becerra,Kasey Lester,Joshua Ramsey

Human Ecology: Mary Whitaker

Introduction to Biology: Emily Miles

Introduction to Interpersonal Communication: Gary Shockley,Matthew Schultz

Introductory Chemistry: Jessica Jensen,Daniel Griffin

Literacy: Jane Brock

Math for Elementary Teachers: Melissa Walters

Mechanical Drafting: Rachel Murray,Waylon Miller

Medical Microbiology: Kasey Lester

Organic Chemistry: Joshua Ramsey,Jared Akers

Principles of Biology: Michele Becerra

Sociology: Amanda Shackleford,Tyler Ealy

Spanish 101: Lisa Hill

Statistics: Kimberly Maggard

Strategies for Academic Success: Tonia L. Weaver

Technical Drafting: Cassandra Howard,James Harris

Women's Studies: Brittany Miller

World Civilization: Jackie May

Writing I: Heather Cupp

Transfer Scholarship Recipients :

Eastern Kentucky University: Angie Allison,Peyton Parrigan, Steven Baker,David Redmond, Jesse Bray, Ashley Callebs,
Kayla Felton, Ronald Hamilton, Charles Howard, Jacob Lawrence, Ashley Lloyd, Mary Miracle

Lincoln Memorial University: Jared Akers,Amy Meddings, Jennifer Baker,Scarlett Nantz, Crystal Dye,Owen O'Neil, Kayla Felton,Tracy Snodgrass, Tonia Harris,Lucas Wilder, Frieda Hoskins,Misty Wyatt

Union College: Brandi Jo Fuson, William C. Hoskins, Heidi Renee Jackson

Groups and Organizations Recognized

Student Government Association:

Sherri Brock - President
Britney Hatfield - Sophomore Representative
Justin Redmond - Sophomore Representative
Joshua Ricketts - Sophomore Representative

Sherri Brock,Shandalyn Nunn, Stephanie Clark,Joshua Ramsey, Britney Hatfield,Justin Redmon, Tiffany Helton,Joshua Ricketts, Ashley Hoskins,Matthew Schultz, Kasey Lester,Lucas Wilder, Tommy Joe Mike

Special Awards and Recognition

Freshman of the Year: William G. Brittain
Sophomore of the Year: Lucas Wilder

Honors Night Committee:

Sheila Miracle (chair), Georgenia Billings, Josh Brooks, Rebecca Miller, and Eddy Miracle.