News Archive

Hall of Fame for Mountain Artisans comes to Southeast's Cumberland campus

Dr. Ayers and Rosezelle Boggs-Qualls cutting ribbon

A ribbon cutting ceremony was held recently on the Cumberland campus of Southeast Kentucky Community amp; Technical College welcoming the Harlan County National Hall of Fame for Mountain Artisans. College President Dr. W. Bruce Ayers, left, hall of fame founder and chairwoman Rosezelle Boggs-Qualls and college archivist Larry LaFollette cut the ribbon at the Edsel Godbey Appalachian Center where the hall will be located. LaFollette noted that the hall of fame is a wonderful addition, to all the other displays in the center. He said that by having the Hall of Fame for Mountain Artisans on the campus will attract attention to the many talented artisans of Eastern Kentucky, who also have their work on display.
(Photo by Chris Jones)