News Archive


Middlesboro, Ky. – The Middlesboro campus of Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College (SKCTC) honored its outstanding students with the annual Honors Night program on Monday, April 24th.


For the 2016-17 school year, SKCTC recognized students for their academic achievement in various subject areas, and they were presented awards for excellence in their disciplines by the faculty.  In addition, special awards such as transfer scholarships from Lincoln Memorial University were presented as well.


The Student of the Year awards went to William Haulbrook, who was named the Outstanding Sophomore of the Year, and to Zach Callihan, who was chosen the Outstanding Freshman of the Year. SKCTC Vice President Dr. Rebecca Parrott presented the award to Haulbrook and Callihan.


Also recognized was Earl Russell Miracle, who has been selected to the KCTCS All-Academic Team.


SKCTC student Katie Jo Jarvis won a full tuition scholarship to continue her education at LMU.  Matt Acton, LMU’s transfer counselor, made the announcement.


Several Southeast Honors Program students were recognized by faculty advisors Caroline Mayes-Cooper and Melissa Helton.  They are Karrah Bledsoe, Amanda Cox, Natasha Hester, Devin Hounshel, Chandler Jones, Adreana Lefevers, and Thomas Marcum.


Psychology Professor Astor Simpson was named the Student Government Association’s 2016-17 Faculty of the Year.  The award was presented by Alexis Carnes, SGA President for Middlesboro campus.


Two outstanding staff members Alva Saylor and Josh Brooks at SKCTC were recognized, receiving special staff awards (Special Employee Service Award/Certification of Appreciation).


Student tutors recognized were Dakota Brock, Zachary Callihan, Joshua Earl, Hanna Farra, Justin Green, Adam Holman, Chandler Jones, Adam Kishpaugh, Adreana Lefevers, Devin Lefevers, Jenna Pogue, Aimee Whitehead and Cody Wombles.


SGA members for the Middlesboro campus were also recognized and they include Mindy Beal-Ray, Alexis Carnes, Andrew Ty Gibbs, Aimee Green-Whitehead, Devin Hounshel and Emily Lawson.  Lisa Barrick and Jamie Jones are the faculty co-sponsors.


Below is a list of the award recipients, who are listed with a faculty member in the subject area. (The recipients are listed alphabetically by the faculty member’s last name.)


--Faculty member Lisa Barrick (English and Developmental English): Rhonda Bentley, Christian Carter, Roberto Felix, Veronica Hubbard, Taylor Jordan, Cara Sowders (two awards), Rachel Cottrell, Ashley Guthrie, Huey Jackson, Hunter Oldham, Brandi Prater, Justin A. Simpson and Justin S. Simpson.


--Faculty member Josh Brooks (Introduction to College): Loren B. Scott.


--Faculty member Victoria Paige Cloud (Mathematics): Julianna Brooke Coleman, Andrew Gibbs, Hope Redmond, Larry Dakota McGeorge and Eugena Sampson.


--Faculty member Kathy Ditty (Mathematics and Introduction to College): Huey Jackson, Jerri Parks and Ciera Webb.


--Faculty member Brad Dyer (Mathematics): Jeremy Capps, Marissa Holland, Justin Scott Simpson, Nekoda Hatmaker, Eric Chase Woolum, Zachary Callihan, William Haulbrook, Bailey Hensley and Justin Green.


--Faculty member David Dixon (EPIC -- Enhancing Programs for IT Certification):  Devin Shane Adams, Nickalus Ryan Frady, Amber A. Nolan, Mark Lee, Randy D. Hensley, Tamara Hensley, Jessica Brooks Marshall, Crystal Mills and Mary E. Saylor.


--Faculty member Steve Greene (Heavy Equipment): Tristan T. Syck and Robert Glenn Tucker.


--Faculty member Dr. Joseph Johnson (Astronomy): Katie Jo Jarvis and Evan M. Miller


--Faculty member Jamie Jones (English): Adam Lee Kishpaugh and Timothy Matthew Mike.


--Faculty member Terry Ann Maciula (Communications); Thomas Edward Busic and Zachary Joshua Callihan.


--Faculty member Joseph Marcum (History): Bailey Jade Hensley and Jacob Chandler Jones.


--Faculty member Caroline Mayes-Cooper (English): Jeremy Capps, Megan Jones, Joshua Earl and Adam Kishpaugh.


--Faculty member Dr. Ray McDonnell (Biology): Heather Medley (two awards), Johnny Partin, Tiffany Eldridge, Benjamin Trosper, Staci Barnett, Luke Woodward and Daniel Tyler Brooks.


--Faculty member Dr. Saeb Omar (Biology): Hope Ann Redmond, Rachel Elaine Ewing, Brittany Jo King, Ryan Levi Philyaw, Kalee Danae Capps, and Samuel Michael Watts.


--Faculty member Amy Simpson (English and related disciplines): Mary Ann Frost, Ty Gibbs (two awards), Andrew Proffitt and Jade Robertson.


--Faculty member Astor Simpson (Psychology): Justin Scott Simpson, Joshua K. Earl and Carol M. Jordan.


--Faculty member Rajiv K. Singh (Chemistry): Dakota G. Brock and William Charles Haulbrook.


--Faculty member Gary Steenbergen (Computer Aided Drafting & Design and related disciplines): Earl Russell Miracle, David Cody Smith, Jordan Mark Elswick, James Samuel Gulley and Joey Daniel McFall.


--Faculty member Jamie Vaught (Accounting and Business Administration): Daniel S. Miracle and Matthew D. Huddleston.


--Faculty member Darrell Walker (Diesel Technology): Logan Cosby, Kyle Evans and Dakota Harris.


For the Honors Night program, Astor Simpson was the master of ceremony.  Josh Brooks gave invocation.  Vice President Dr. Rebecca Parrott gave opening and closing remarks.


A reception for the students, family members and friends was also held before the program.


Photo Caption: SKCTC’s Middlesboro campus recently recognized outstanding students at its annual Honors Night program.  Pictured are, from left, Earl Russell Miracle (KCTCS All-Academic Team), professor Astor Simpson, Zach Callihan (Freshman of the Year) and William Haulbrook (Sophomore of the Year). 

Students and teachers at honors night