Our Board of Directors

Rayburn Doss, Chair
207 Gogich Street, Cumberland KY 40323, (606) 589-2401
Rayburn Doss, a native of the area, was a member of the the first graduating class of Southeast Community College and was present at the spade ceremony for Southeast in 1960. He opened a local grocery store, and was then employed by Standard Oil. In 1978, after only nine years with Standard Oil, Mr. Doss owned his own Standard Oil franchise. Since then it has grown to be one of the major oil suppliers in Harlan County. He is the Chair of the Southeast Education Foundation and Chair of the Bank of Harlan Board of Directors.

Abe Bailey
P.O. Box 435, Grays Knob, KY 40829, (606) 573-5258
Abe Bailey is a native of Harlan County, Kentucky. He is a retired Plant Operating Engineer of Harlan Appalachian Regional Healthcare Hospital. He served in the United States Army for 2 years and is a Kentucky Colonel. He was a Harlan County Magistrate of District 4 for over 14 years. He also served on the AFL-CIO board of directors for 12 years.

Sandy Miller
P.O. Box 488, Harlan, KY 40831, (606) 573-6968  
Sandy Miller, Comptroller at Leo Miller & Associates, Inc. a consulting civil engineering firm, has chaired numerous functions for Southeast, networking community support and promoting awareness for the educational programs and services the College provides for the Southeast student.  She is A board member for The Center for Rural Development, Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors of the Southeast Education Foundation, Inc., Cumberland Valley Area Development District Board of Ethics Committee Member, a member of the Benham School House Inn Advisory Committee, Pine Mountain Settlement School Advisory Council, and the Kentucky Mountain Laurel Festival Board of Directors.      

Charity Collett Hayes
2309 Cumberland Avenue, Middlesboro KY 40965, (606) 499-3886
Charity Hayes is a native of Bell County, Kentucky.  She is a Southeast graduate with Associate of Arts degree.  She went on to complete her Bachelor's and Master's degrees in Education from Lincoln Memorial University and Union College, respectively.  She also has earned a Rank I in Principalship and Administration.  She currently teaches intermediate science in the Bell County school system.  She serves on the Curriculum Planning committee, Social committee, Parent Involvement committee, Science Olympiad, and coaches cheerleading.

Sandy Hogg
PO Box 365, Neon, KY  41840, (606) 633-4455  
Sandy Hogg currently serves as Director of Community Education for the Letcher County Schools.  She is a graduate of Morehead State University, where she earned a Master of Arts Degree in education. Ms. Hogg is invaluable in helping the College expand on an evolving relationship with the Letcher County Board of Education.

Roger C. Noe , Vice Chair
100 Noe Way, Baxter, KY 40806, (606) 573-0023
Dr. Roger C. Noe, a 14-year veteran of the Kentucky House
Of Representatives, served for seven years as that Chamber’s Chair of the Education Committee. The Harlan Democrat, who represented Kentucky's 88th House District, also served on the influential House Appropriations and Revenue Committee, Budget Review Subcommittee on Education, and was a member of the Legislature's Task Force on School Reform.
Currently a professor of psychology at Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College—where he has been employed for some 40 + years--Noe stepped down as the institution’s Dean of Academic Affairs in 2004 to return to teaching. Dr. Noe was Interim President at Ashland Community College (1994-95) and Maysville Community College (1996-97). He received an MA from Eastern Kentucky University after completing his undergraduate work at The University of the Cumberland’s and holds a Doctorate in Education from the University of Kentucky in Policy Studies and Evaluation. He studied State and Local Government Policy at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University in 1986; and has published scholarly articles in such journals as The Progress of Education, The Journal of Education Finance, and the Yale Law and Policy Review.
Noe's honors include receiving outstanding and distinguished alumnus awards from both The University of the Cumberland’s (1986) and Eastern Kentucky University (1988). He is a 1988 Charter Inductee to the Hall of Honor at The University of the Cumberland’s, and in 1989 was inducted into the Political Science Society as an honored member at Eastern Kentucky University.
One of former Rep. Noe’s, legislative projects—the Parent and Child Education Program-was recognized by the Ford Foundation as one of the nation’s ten best “Innovations in State and Local Government.” In addition, he was recognized as one of the Top 10 Legislators in the Kentucky General Assembly in 1990 by the Lexington Herald-Leader. Noe has stayed active in his community: He has served as a member of the Harlan Independent School Board; coached basketball and baseball for the Cawood Ledford Boy’s and Girl’s Club and was recognized by that organization with its “Volunteer of the Year” award in 2006 for his extensive involvement with the area’s young people. Noe coached little league softball and served 4 years as an assistant coach for the Harlan High School Lady Dragons softball team.
Roger and his wife Susan have been married for 45 years. They have three children and four grandchildren.

Cathie Day, Staff Representative
535 Jenkins Road, Lynch, KY  40855, (606) 848-2320
Cathie Day has been employed at Southeast 1977.  She currently serves as senior administrative assistant to the Chief Academic Officer, a post she has held for the past thirty years.  As staff representative, she also serves as secretary to the Southeast Board of Directors.  Ms. Day is also currently serving a two-year term to the Mountain Comprehensive Health Corporation Board of Directors.  Ms. Day was an active volunteer for the Tri-City Little and Senior League baseball program for a number of years and served as a member of the Cumberland High School Youth Advisory Board.  She is currently pursuing a bachelor’s degree from Murray State University.

**Student Representative currently Vacant, Election Pending**